MARK: Marketing and Consumer Behavior

Within the Marketing cluster of our department, research is carried out in the field of consumer behaviour. We focus on retail marketing and shopping behavior (off- as well as online). Issues related to shopper typologies, channel choice (e.g. adoption of online, multichannel, social and virtual world shopping), shopping motivations (a.o. compulsive buying), customer emotions and experiences, satisfaction and loyalty are studied. In current research projects we analyze - among others – the impact of store atmospherics (for example colours, lighting, and odours), (technological) innovations at the point-of-sale and brand personality and differentiation across different retail formats. The research team also studies the usage of new media (e.g., Facebook, Second Life,…) and the effectiveness of marketing communication (e.g., the determinants of brand confusion, the impact of social media and in-store apps).

Besides qualitative research methods (focus groups and Kelly grid, etc.), the researchers mainly use quantitative survey methods and factor-experimental research designs. Therefore, multivariate techniques (correlations, t-tests, analyses of variance, factor analyses, cluster analyses, regressions, and structural equation modeling) are used in SPSS, AMOS and Smart PLS.

Members

Associate professors

BRENGMAN Malaika

Phone: +32 2 629 20 65
Email: Malaika.Brengman@vub.ac.be
Office: C.2.09

Publications
 

 

 

WILLEMS Kim - CV

Phone: +32 2 629 18 79
Email: Kim.Willems@vub.ac.be
Office: C.2.09

Publications
 

Researchers / Assistants

 

VAN KERREBROECK Helena

Phone: +32 2 629 12 24
Email: Helena.Van.Kerrebroeck@vub.ac.be
Office: C.2.12

Publications

 

SMOLDERS Annelien

Phone: +32 2 629 14 21
Email: Annelien.Smolders@vub.ac.be
Office: C.2.12

Publications

 

STEENACKERS Kathy

Phone: +32 2 629 22 36
Email: Kathy.Steenackers@vub.ac.be
Office: C.2.12

Publications

 

DE GAUQUIER Laurens

Phone: +32 2 629 14 24
Email: Laurens.de.Gauquier@vub.ac.be
Office: C.2.12

Publications

 

 

HASSOUNEH Diana

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Diana.Hassouneh@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications

 

 

KARIMOV Farhod

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Farhod.Karimov@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications
  

 

COUCKE Patrick

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Patrick.Coucke@vub.ac.be
Office: C.2.12

Publications

 

CASSADY Bryan

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Bryan.Cassady@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications
Personal website 

 

HELLEMANS Johan

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Johan.Hellemans@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications

Groups audience: