FINS: Finance and Insurance

The research unit of Finance and Insurance (FINS), headed by Steven Vanduffel, is conducting research in the areas of corporate finance, financial engineering, econometrics and insurance mathematics. Kris Boudt, Lieven De Moor and Steven Vanduffel are the full-time professors associated with FINS. 

The current research of Kris Boudt involves the development of econometric methods to estimate, forecast and optimize financial risk acknowledging the non-linear and non-normal features of the dynamic distribution of financial returns and integrate new data types (high-frequency data, text analysis, sustainability scores, macro-financial state variables). 

Historically, the research focus of Lieven De Moor has been on empirical asset pricing and international and macro finance, but recently it has further expanded to portfolio management, socially responsible investing, financial literacy, educational policy, and SME finance. 

Steven Vanduffel's recent research focuses on the analysis of model risk, the optimal design of derivatives, the modeling of stochastic dependence and risk management.  Over the last years the group has significantly expanded and increased its research output on all levels. The research unit regularly welcomes international visitors and has excellent research partnerships with the financial industry.

Over the last years the group has significantly expanded and shows an increasing stream of strong research output appearing in top journals such as Journal of Banking and Finance, Review of Finance, Journal of Mathematical Economics and Journal of Risk and Insurance. We regularly welcome international visitors and have excellent research partnerships with the financial industry.

 

Vacancies

Currently there are no vacancies at our research unit.

 

Members

Permanent staff

VANDUFFEL Steven

Phone: +32 2 629 10 46
Email: Steven.Vanduffel@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.05

Publications
Personal website 

 

 

BOUDT Kris - CV

Phone: +32 2 629 21 24
Email: Kris.Boudt@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.04

Publications

 

 

DE MOOR Lieven - CV

Phone: +32 2 629 36 92
Email: Lieven.De.Moor@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.03

Publications

 

VAN DEN SPIEGEL Freddy - CV

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: fvdspieg@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications

Associated staff

SCHOUPPE Jacques - CV

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Jacques.Schouppe@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications

Temporary research staff

 

BERNARD Carole

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: 
Office: B.2.11

Publications

 

 

YAO Jing

Phone: +32 2 629 20 39
Email: Jing.Yao@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.13

Publications

 

 

NGUYEN Giang

Phone: +32 2 629 20 38
Email: Ha.Giang.Nguyen.@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.13

Publications

 

 

DE KLERCK Steven

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Steven.De.Klerck@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.13

Publications

 

DEFAU Laurens

Phone: +32 2 629 21 28
Email: Laurens.Defau@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.06b

Publications

 

DE MUYLDER Jan - CV

Phone: +32 2 629 14 32
Email: Jan.De.Muylder@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications

 

THIERIE Wouter

Phone: +32 2 629 20 50
Email: Wouter.Thierie@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.06b

Publications

 

ALGABA Andres

Phone: +32 2 629 20 50
Email: Andres.Algaba@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.06b

Publications

 

CORNILLY Dries

Phone: +32 2 629 20 50
Email: Dries.Cornilly@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.06b

Publications

 

YE Jiang

Phone: +32 2 629 20 38
Email: Jiang.Ye@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.13

Publications

 

LUITEL Prabesh

Phone: +32 2 629 20 57
Email: Prabesh.Luitel@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.13

Publications

 

 

VANDORPE Rudy

Phone: +32 2 629 21 19
Email: Rudy.Vandorpe@vub.ac.be
Office: B.2.11

Publications

 

 

Groups audience: